Asset Nav 4.5.3 migration [dbnetlib]ConnectionOpen

Open discussion about our Asset Navigator application

Asset Nav 4.5.3 migration [dbnetlib]ConnectionOpen

Postby nicklasr on Tue Nov 27, 2007 6:07 am

Migrating Asset Navigator (4.5.3) to new server (windows 2003),
Installed MSDE2000a used SAPWD INSTANCENAME and SECURITYMODE=SQL qualifiers
Can launch Asset Nav 4.5.3 from server without any problems.
SQL server agent running ok on the server task bar.
restored database from previous server and all looking great....

However when i try to connect from any admin client and choose change database i get the following error message

[DBNETLIB]ConnectionOpen (Connect().]SQL Server does not exist or access denied.

This error occurs if i use the sa username and password or any authorised NT authenticated accounts.

Any ideas?
nicklasr
Junior
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 6:53 am

Re: Asset Nav 4.5.3 migration [dbnetlib]ConnectionOpen

Postby pille on Wed Nov 28, 2007 4:18 pm

nicklasr wrote:MSDE2000a used SAPWD INSTANCENAME and SECURITYMODE=SQL


One you might have missed during the install is:

DISABLENETWORKPROTOCOLS=n
Specifies whether the instance will accept network connections from applications running on other computers. By default, or if you specify DISABLENTWORKPROTOCOL=1, Setup configures the instance to not accept network connections. Specify DISABLENETWORKPROTOCOLS=0 to enable network connections.

In this case since you already installed MSDE, run svrnetcn.exe on the server. You can then specify what protocols you want to enable. Just make sure you enable TCP/IP

Here's a fairly good reference for you if you need one - http://www.codeproject.com/database/ConfigureMSDE.asp
Contact Technical Services directly:
support@alloy-software.com
http://support.alloy-software.com

Paul Ille
Alloy Software
Maximize your IT Universe
Follow us on Twitter: http://twitter.com/alloysoftware
Image
User avatar
pille
Alloy Software
 
Posts: 473
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 3:11 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA

Postby nicklasr on Fri Nov 30, 2007 6:53 am

Thanks so much for your eagle eyed spot there 8)
Its now working,
I removed and reinstalled msde2000a as the SQL tool svrnetcn.exe didnt run and gave an error 126 -
Also trashed the database I had imported and created a new database instance.
removed and reinstalled asset navigator
I then deleted the new database I had created and imported the database from our old server to the same name as the new database i had just deleted.
I had to recreate the admin accounts in asset nav.

I suspect the connectlib error was appearing because we are also running wsus on that server as another sql instance.....

Finally thanks to everyone on this forum, its all your help that makes asset navigator an even greater product.

GOLD STAR FOR PILLE!
nicklasr
Junior
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 6:53 am


Return to Asset Navigator 4 Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 0 guests

cron