Page 1 of 1

Link Hardware to Assets

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 1:38 pm
by uniceftacro
One of the things I like the least about Alloy Navigator is the duality between the computer/hardware tables and assets, I guess there is a benefit of this, but in my mind it only seems to duplicate work.
Anyway, I am entering blackberry smartphone devices into AN as Hardware records, this is fine. But then, I need to create an asset and reenter all the assignment and classification just to be able enter the internal asset tag number?
This is still cumbersome but easier for Computers as Alloy Discovery *duplicates* the records automatically, but how about manually entered or imported non-computer records?
Thanks.

Re: Link Hardware to Assets

PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2011 10:29 am
by tccwrd
Support helped me duplicate that workflow so it works the same for hardware too. They said it was changed in 6.1 or 6.1.1 (can't rem) to work this way, but upgraders don't get the latest workflow since upgrading the workflow might overwrite our modifications.

If you look at how the computer/asset logic works you can just create what you want.

Re: Link Hardware to Assets

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 11:17 am
by uniceftacro
tccwrd wrote:Support helped me duplicate that workflow so it works the same for hardware too. They said it was changed in 6.1 or 6.1.1 (can't rem) to work this way, but upgraders don't get the latest workflow since upgrading the workflow might overwrite our modifications.

If you look at how the computer/asset logic works you can just create what you want.


Same here. Thanks!