Custom Field Reference

Open discussion about our Alloy Navigator 6 application

Custom Field Reference

Postby Jennix on Fri Mar 02, 2012 10:57 am

Hallo,
I want to add to Technicians, a custom field to define the Main Group (reference to Group).
When I try and select Reference Type, I can select as Reference To only Persons and Technicians. Why?
I tried another way: I added a custom field (string), where I write the Group Name.
But I cannot use this field to update the Incident Assignee Group, when assignee is modified. I need a function that returns the Group ID, given the Group Name: how to declare function parameter?
Thanks a lot
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Jennix
Junior
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 5:00 am

Re: Custom Field Reference

Postby eliaslynch on Tue Mar 06, 2012 12:44 pm

You can only reference persons and technicians in UDFs right now, but I was told this will be expanded in next version maybe.

But what are you trying to do? Are you just trying to update the Assignee Group used in an Incident? If so you're probably going about it in a much more difficult way than is needed.

If you look in the programming tab of any workflow object, you'll see there is an update related object operation. You can choose Assignee Group from there an update it as you see fit for whatever reason. You don't need a UDF reference.
--------
Elias
User avatar
eliaslynch
Senior
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 7:03 pm

Re: Custom Field Reference

Postby Jennix on Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:46 am

Hello,
what I need to do is: when the Assignee is modified, then the Assignee Group change automatically, with the Main Group of the new Assignee.
As we are a small ITS, for our first level of service desk it is easier to assign tickets to a technician, not filtering technicians by a group (I have created a group thet contains all technicians).
We will use the assignee group for notification only for Incident with HIGH SLA required.
In fact, we need a mechanism opposite to the Alloy default behavior:
Tickt - Group - Technician .. Ticket - Technicain - Group...
I hope to have explained clearily my requirements.
Thanks

Jennix
User avatar
Jennix
Junior
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 5:00 am

Re: Custom Field Reference

Postby eliaslynch on Fri Mar 09, 2012 1:23 pm

I don't believe there's a way without doing an update field with a sql select and there's probably something to watch out for. Are any technicians in two groups? If so, how will it know which to select?
--------
Elias
User avatar
eliaslynch
Senior
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 7:03 pm


Return to Alloy Navigator 6 Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron