Asset Management Vs Configuration Management

Open discussion about our Alloy Navigator 6 application

Asset Management Vs Configuration Management

Postby GPS on Wed Jan 27, 2010 9:43 pm

I noticed that the price of a Configuration Item (Hardware) is controlled by having an associated Asset. If we wish to show a CI having a price we need to create (duplicate) this item as an Asset - wondering what the logic is behind this.
GPS
Senior
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 1:28 am
Location: Darwin, Australia

Re: Asset Management Vs Configuration Management

Postby janstonselig on Thu Jan 28, 2010 4:12 pm

I was told it was to section off the financial side so someone could work on one side of things and not bother with the technical side. I bet there's a way to make it so that creating an asset will automatically create something like hardware automatically linked to it. Lots of things like that you can do.
User avatar
janstonselig
Senior
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 1:12 pm

Re: Asset Management Vs Configuration Management

Postby GPS on Thu Jan 28, 2010 6:57 pm

Cheers for that,

I can see their is a great deal more Automation options available, will have to start playing around with it more.
GPS
Senior
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 1:28 am
Location: Darwin, Australia


Return to Alloy Navigator 6 Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron