Page 1 of 1

Decommissioned pcs

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2003 2:21 pm
by waley
How are people dealing with decommissioned pcs? Between end of lease and end of life pcs are you just deleting the asset record? Ideally, I'd like to either move those records to another DB or flag them somehow. The problem with the second option is although I'd like to maintain the information, for historical purposes, I'd rather they didn't count against my node count as these are not actively audit assets.

Found This Old Thread

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2006 9:40 am
by OMNI
I'd like to see if the support team has an answer for this as I have run into this problem. We have serveral PCs that we need to decom and the process that is in asset nav doesn't fee up any node licenses so that we can add in new machines.

Are there any other suggestions for this or processes besides deleting the record?

Thanks in advance.

PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2006 11:35 am
by pille
Speaking with A5 in mind, the proper way to handle decomissioned PCs is to retire them. This information is still kept in the database although not shown. This is something that will probably change in a future release.

In the meantime, if you have access to the support portal, download the add-on reports. There are reports specific to retired computers that will allow you to report on this information.

You can also create a report to pull this information as the Retired field in the Computers table is a simple True/False value.

Do decomissioned pcs count against the node count?

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 7:13 am
by Brophers
If you decommission the pcs, do they count against the node count??

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 9:27 am
by pille
In A5 retiring PCs removes that PC from your node count.