Page 1 of 1

Where to host Discovery?

PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2009 4:23 pm
by Tom Rainolds
I was advised to install Alloy Discovery to the server that hosts my SQL Server. This way I have everything on a single machine (Express, services and Discovery).

I agree, it is convenient however every time I need to analyze collected audits I have to use WRD (win rem desktop) to access the server machine. Is there a better option?

Re: Where to host Discovery?

PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 3:28 pm
by tevinstech
you can install discovery wherever. we have it on more than one machine. trick is you set the repository to the same share so data you access is same. think that's how license works anyway. one repository.

Re: Where to host Discovery?

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 1:39 am
by chrisadam
One of the very first steps in any network reconnaissance mission is to reduce a (sometimes huge) set of IP ranges into a list of active or interesting hosts. Scanning every port of every single IP address is slow and usually unnecessary. Of course what makes a host interesting depends greatly on the scan purposes. Network administrators may only be interested in hosts running a certain service, while security auditors may care about every single device with an IP address. An administrator may be comfortable using just an ICMP ping to locate hosts on his internal network, while an external penetration tester may use a diverse set of dozens of probes in an attempt to evade firewall restrictions.

_______________________________________________________________________

Want to get-on Google's first page and loads of traffic to our website? Hire a SEO Specialist from Ocean Groupsseo pecialist