deleting old node data

Open discussion about the Asset Navigator Inventory

deleting old node data

Postby rchin on Tue Jun 08, 2004 12:35 pm

I'm looking to delete old node data from AN as the computers may have had their names changed or have been reimaged.

Is the best practice to delete old .adt files in the AuditData directory or to delete the data from the AN frontend?

Also, if I were to delete data from the frontend, if I were to reload the auditdata would it get picked up again?

Conversely, if I delete .adt files and reload auditdata from the frontend, does the program know to delete these missing .adt files from the database or does it just read in new .adt files?
rchin
Junior
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 12:54 pm

Postby mhull on Tue Jun 08, 2004 7:06 pm

Database records exist independent of the .adt files. So deleting an .adt file will not have any effect on the computer record at all.

If you delete a computer then load it's .adt file again, a new record will be created for it.
mhull
 


Return to Asset Navigator 4 Inventory Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests