Ina32 problem

Open discussion about the Asset Navigator Inventory

Ina32 problem

Postby Stephen Walker on Wed Dec 03, 2003 6:37 am

Hi everybody, this is my first post. We have just purchased Audit Navigator. I am trying to run the ina32.exe program from a network share on all our client machines as they reboot using Windows task manager. For 99% of the machines it works ok. However for some of them the .adt and .scn files are not being created. On looking in the Debug_ log file for the machine it scans the hard disc then at the end of the file it has stopped with a message:

09:57:49 - Error in TAuditStarter.Run: '' is not a valid integer value

Any ideas. Thanks in advance.
Steve Walker
Stephen Walker
Junior
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 8:48 am

Postby Stephen Walker on Thu Dec 04, 2003 5:44 am

After looking at this post I need to clarify this more. I am using contol panel > scheduled tasks >add schedule task. The task is called 'ina32' and runs at boot time on each machine. It is this task which is failing on occasions and reporting the error in the debug file. Sorry for the confusion.
Stephen Walker
Junior
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 8:48 am

Postby mhull on Thu Dec 04, 2003 12:25 pm

These errors are caused by a bug in the ina32.exe distributed in early 4.2 versions. Upgrading to 4.2.4 and redeploying will correct this error.
mhull
 

Postby Stephen Walker on Fri Dec 05, 2003 5:48 am

Thanks for the reply Matthew. Unfortunately when I checked our version we are using version 4.2.4 (build 1452). Is there an newer build or a suitable workaround? Thanks. Steve Walker.
Stephen Walker
Junior
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 8:48 am

Still get error occasionally

Postby gifted_eagle1973 on Fri Dec 05, 2003 9:17 am

I still have machines that produce "not a valid integer value". Most are OK with 4.2.4. These are mostly older machines, with the exception of a couple of newer IBMs. The IBMs that have the problem were likely hit by viruses/spyware, so I'm wondering whether that would cause a problem when scanning the registry.
gifted_eagle1973
Senior
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2003 9:02 am

Postby mhull on Fri Dec 05, 2003 1:04 pm

AN version is not really important. What is important is that you are running ina32 version 745 or later. That's why I said above that you need to upgrade to AN 4.2.4 -and- redeploy to get the latest ina32.
mhull
 

Postby gifted_eagle1973 on Fri Dec 05, 2003 2:57 pm

I am running INA32.exe Version 4.1.8.745
gifted_eagle1973
Senior
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2003 9:02 am

Postby Stephen Walker on Mon Dec 08, 2003 6:37 am

We have version 4.1.8.745 also which was created using the deployment wizard from the 4.2.4 version. How can we get a newer version or a workaround? Steve
Stephen Walker
Junior
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 8:48 am

Postby Stephen Walker on Thu Dec 11, 2003 5:05 am

Received version 4.1.8.766 of the ina32.exe program. This now seems to work ok. thanks for your help. Steve
Stephen Walker
Junior
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 8:48 am

same poblem

Postby rsolorzano on Mon May 17, 2004 5:04 pm

Same problem here guys, using ina32.exe ver 4.1.8.745 where did you get the 4.1.8.766?

Tks
rsolorzano
Junior
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:36 pm

Postby mhull on Mon May 17, 2004 5:50 pm

You need to run Auto-Update to upgrade to the latest version. Then, run Deployment Wizard to deploy the latest ina32.exe.
mhull
 

Postby ThomasB on Thu Oct 07, 2004 9:27 am

where do i check for the version number of the ina32 file ?
ThomasB
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 5:19 am

Postby mhull on Thu Oct 07, 2004 3:38 pm

Browse to file in Windows Explorer, highlight it, hit ctrl+enter, go to Version tab.
mhull
 


Return to Asset Navigator 4 Inventory Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron