Connecting problem Client > Server

Open discussion about our Alloy Navigator 5 application

Connecting problem Client > Server

Postby mhuguenin@ossur.com on Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:45 pm

Hi

I am currently running Nav5 version 5.30. This has been installed on a 2003 R2 server. Client on server and web portal with Tech and SelfService run fine.

I also installed the client on my workstation (Vista Business) and another laptop with XPPRO.
On both systems I am unable to connect to Navigator. Upon browsing for the SQL instance my server is only listed by its name, but not with the SQL instance. Therefore the database name can also not be retrieved. When I execute this on the server, it shows the instance as <server>\<instance> and the database name shows immediately when browsing for it.

My windows user account on the (Vista) PC has been setup as technician and admin in Nav5 as is the user account on the XP laptop. Results on both are the same.

I made my personal account I use on the laptop a member of the local administrators of the server that runs Navigator. Then I login to that server, start Navigator and when browsing it shows that instance and database name and logging in is no problem.

So my question is why the Navigator instance is not shown in the browse box when running the client from another system. All authentication is Windows authentication.

Any suggestions? Thanks!
mhuguenin@ossur.com
Junior
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 4:20 pm

Postby pille on Fri Aug 03, 2007 2:26 pm

So my question is why the Navigator instance is not shown in the browse box when running the client from another system. All authentication is Windows authentication.


Hi,

So in the end is the issue that the server is not shown when browsing from the login box of A5? If so, are you able to type in it? If you still can't connect after typing the name in, are you able to connect to the sql server from any other machine? Or a database on that server?

If you can't connect from any machine, check out this kb article - http://support.alloy-software.com/?mode ... d=KB000058

Let us know
Contact Technical Services directly:
support@alloy-software.com
http://support.alloy-software.com

Paul Ille
Alloy Software
Maximize your IT Universe
Follow us on Twitter: http://twitter.com/alloysoftware
Image
User avatar
pille
Alloy Software
 
Posts: 473
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 3:11 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA

Postby mhuguenin@ossur.com on Fri Aug 03, 2007 4:09 pm

Since SQL 2005 is rather new for me I didn't know that the protocols TCP/IP and Named Pipes were not enabled after installation. Enabling them did the trick. Now I can connect.
Thank you very much for your help!

Marcel
mhuguenin@ossur.com
Junior
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 4:20 pm


Return to Alloy Navigator 5 Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron