Send PC Info with Incident

Open discussion about our Alloy Navigator 5 application

Send PC Info with Incident

Postby VTBanker on Thu Aug 02, 2007 2:33 pm

All our end users use the web portal. When they submit a ticket we get back all the information on the user but a lot of the time it's hard to tell which PC they are on because the portal won't send that info abck to us. It would sure help speed up problem resolution if at least the PC name and/or asset number would be automatically related to the incident when it is submitted.
User avatar
VTBanker
Senior
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon May 17, 2004 3:46 pm
Location: Morrisville, Vermont

Postby pille on Fri Aug 03, 2007 2:32 pm

You could create a field that allows customers to enter that if you wanted....and also make it mandatory.

The issue with trying to do it in any automated way is...what if customers have multiple machines? What asset tag would it use?

One way to determine the machine is this...In the main console looking at the ticket, if you click on the link for Requester, it will open the person record, then click on the Configurable items tab and it'll show the assets they own.

Of course this won't be a good solution if the requesters are not set as the owners of their computers and they use other computers.
Contact Technical Services directly:
support@alloy-software.com
http://support.alloy-software.com

Paul Ille
Alloy Software
Maximize your IT Universe
Follow us on Twitter: http://twitter.com/alloysoftware
Image
User avatar
pille
Alloy Software
 
Posts: 473
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 3:11 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA

Postby VTBanker on Tue Aug 07, 2007 5:29 pm

When users use the web portal we have it set to automatically logon to AN with thier AD network credentials. I wasn't sure if there was a way the web portal could snag the computer network name as well for the ticket they are submitting. The problem we have in IT is we have a lot of end users at branch locations that move around from branch to branch. They can put a ticket in but they never tell us where they are and what PC they are on that day so we spend a lot of time tracking them down. If I could make a mandatory field on the web portal that would probably work as long as they use the correct number.
User avatar
VTBanker
Senior
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon May 17, 2004 3:46 pm
Location: Morrisville, Vermont

Postby pille on Mon Aug 13, 2007 10:18 am

You could add a mandatory field for use in the web portal. The one thing to consider is that you can make the field mandatory in two different ways.

1. When creating a user defined field, check off mandatory.

This is easy to do and will show the end user a message, but the field will be located on the custom data tab and they may not find it.

2. Create the user defined field and setup business logic to pop up a message box when it's not filled in.

The benefit of this is that you can set the message it shows. You can then direct customers to the custom data tab to make sure they populate the field.
Contact Technical Services directly:
support@alloy-software.com
http://support.alloy-software.com

Paul Ille
Alloy Software
Maximize your IT Universe
Follow us on Twitter: http://twitter.com/alloysoftware
Image
User avatar
pille
Alloy Software
 
Posts: 473
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 3:11 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA


Return to Alloy Navigator 5 Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron