Page 1 of 1

Problem with adding a user

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2007 7:43 am
by ap-prelec
I have a "problem" when trying to create a user with Windows authentication in the administration tool. It goes fine until the very end, where it comes up with the following message:
"The login already has an account under a different user name".

And it is true that the user has been created before, but deleted again.
Is the any way to either see or completely delete these traces or what it is from the earlier creation, so it can be recreated.

Thanks

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2007 12:10 pm
by pille
Welcome ap-prelec :D

I've seen situations where the application doesn't refresh properly either because of options or a slow connection to SQL so the application still thinks the account exists.

I would delete the account, make sure that no other accounts exist with the login you'll be using and then restart both the administrative settings and the A5 application, if open, on your machine.

Then try to create the account in question.

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2007 2:29 am
by prelectronics
Hi,

I am working with AP on this problem
I have check our Account this morning, we only have 4 so I am sure there is no trace in the accounts of the user we want to create again.
And we still get the same error.
Just a note we are using windows auth if that has any thing so say on this matter

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2007 2:50 pm
by pille
Welcome prelectronics :D

prelectronics wrote:And we still get the same error.


What I would do at this point is check to see if the account still exists on the SQL side. Maybe it's being hung up by something that remains there for whatever reason.

I would open up Enterprise Manager or Studio Express and see if the user in question still exists there.

Two places to check:
SQL Server - Security > Logins
Database - Database > [databasename] > Security > Users

If the person exists there, and they don't have rights to anything on the SQL server, just delete them. If they do have rights, of course make sure you note them before deleting so you can reconfigure them afterwards.

Let me know how that goes.