Make read-only

Open discussion about our Asset Navigator application

Make read-only

Postby nderose on Thu Oct 29, 2009 11:11 am

I couldn't find anything on this...

Is there a way to make AN4 (or 5) "read only" for maintenance/conversion purposes?

I'm looking to take both versions "offline" while I do the final database conversion, and I know that if I don't lock it down, someone will forget and use it.

Thanks,
Nate
nderose
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 8:05 am

Re: Make read-only

Postby moroz on Wed Nov 04, 2009 2:33 pm

Most of our customers import data from Asset Navigator V4.5 into Alloy Navigator 5 in two steps:

1) Initial Database Migration. It is safe to leave the application (AN4) accessible to users because all new data (such as new tickets, computers, etc. ) will be migrated in the next step.
2) Database Migration Update. You should stop using AN4 (and stop all services like the Audit Loader, AD Import, etc.) before you start this process. With this procedure explained in details in the Admin Guide you don't need to make nether database 'read only'.
moroz
Alloy Software
 
Posts: 749
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2002 9:31 am


Return to Asset Navigator 4 Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests