Page 1 of 1

SMTP

PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 6:02 pm
by jgoff
I am getting a error when I try and submitt a ticket. The error that I am getting is "SMTP Error: Socket Error # 10060 connection timed out.
From: Helpdesk@domain.com
To: ,helpdesk@domain.com
We have a exchange server and this have been working for about a year.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 2:25 pm
by pille
Socket error 10060 literally means the connection attempt timed out. Generally it is received when attempting to connect to an SMTP server when SMTP connections are blocked or SMTP connections are blocked to that server.

With that said, something must have changed in your environment and it most likely is not related to our software.

I would attempt to test with Outlook from the Navigator server to make sure SMTP connections can be made successfully. If they don't work through Outlook they won't work in our application.

PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 6:05 pm
by redw
I have the same issue that the above user has described. I was able to send mail via outlook on the server that hosts the helpdesk. Ideas?

PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 6:27 pm
by pille
You probably have the account setup in Outlook to use Exchange server. Therefor you're not using SMTP. You'll have to setup the account as a POP3 or IMAP account to test SMTP in Outlook.

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 1:13 pm
by redw
Thank you for the prompt response. I initiated a telnet session from the server that hosts the Asset Navigator services to the exchange server.

Telnet <ip> <port number>
etc...

It turns out that it is not the server that has the SMTP issues, rather it is the client machines that are submitting tickets to the helpdesk. Any ideas as to why the client machines are unable to send? I'm thinking permissions on the exchange server....

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 1:18 pm
by pille
Ah ok.

This could even be something like virus protection blocking the port you use for SMTP. In many cases though it would be Exchange. It could be rights or even the SMTP not being started.

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 2:00 pm
by redw
Is it possible to change to outgoing mail server to an ip versus mail.domain.com? Does AN support this input?

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 2:58 pm
by pille
I know A5 does. I'm pretty sure A4 does also.