Request/Feature to Disable Asset Navigator Splash Scree

Open discussion about our Asset Navigator application

Request/Feature to Disable Asset Navigator Splash Scree

Postby sdendle on Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:15 am

We use a Terminal Server for our desktops.
Whenever we run a connection over a WAN the splash screen takes a considerable amount of time to phase in and out.

I was wondering if their is a way to disable the splash screen and/or can this be an option included in a maintenance release?
sdendle
Senior
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2002 3:20 am

Postby moroz on Thu Jan 08, 2004 10:23 am

You can't disable the splash screen in the current version. And it seems like you have something else taking the time, the splash screen doesn't take time it self. Could you please investigate on you side and let us know if you find anything else may take resources.
moroz
Alloy Software
 
Posts: 749
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2002 9:31 am

Postby sdendle on Thu Jan 08, 2004 8:30 pm

The splash screen only takes time to cycle through the pahes in and out when using a dialup over the terminal server.

If you are connecting to the terminal server over the LAN their is no problems with the splash screen.

Most applications are now giving you the option of disabling the splash screen as they exibit this when being used on a terminal server over a wan.

AN responds really well over a dialup once it is past the spalsh screen.
sdendle
Senior
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2002 3:20 am

Postby moroz on Tue Jan 20, 2004 1:34 pm

An option to disable the splash screen included in version 4.3.
moroz
Alloy Software
 
Posts: 749
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2002 9:31 am

Postby hughnorman on Thu Sep 16, 2004 10:01 pm

Originally posted by Support Team L1
An option to disable the splash screen included in version 4.3.


I've got 4.31 build 1526. I've looked but I can't find where to disable the splash screen. Could you point me in the right direction?
hughnorman
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2003 2:02 am

Postby moroz on Fri Sep 17, 2004 11:07 am

You should use the /nosplash option to disable the splash screen.
moroz
Alloy Software
 
Posts: 749
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2002 9:31 am

/nosplash doesn't help terminal services speed

Postby appleman on Thu Dec 09, 2004 8:25 am

The new "/nosplash" option doesn't appear to increase the speed issue originally thought to be the problem with the splash screen at program start. Over terminal services, starting Asset Navigator 4.41 can take several minutes to start.
appleman
Junior
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 9:00 pm

Postby sdendle on Sun Dec 12, 2004 6:08 pm

the "/nosplash" setting did resolve the challange we were having.
Having said that we are running 4.3.2. Was the speed an issue for you on this version?
sdendle
Senior
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2002 3:20 am


Return to Asset Navigator 4 Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron